McKinney-Vento Homeless Education

  • Part of the No Child Left Behind federal legislation, the McKinney-Vento Homeless Education Act protects eligible students from
    discrimination and mandates equal access to educational programs and services. Students who are identified as McKinney-Vento eligible 
    must have no barriers to their education. 
     
     
     
    A student is considered
    “McKinney-Vento eligible” if
    he or she is presently:
     
    McKinney-Vento students
    have the rights to:
    • Living in a shelter
    • Living in a motel, hotel or
      campground due to lack of
      adequate housing
    • Sharing housing with relatives
      of others due to a lack of
      housing
    • Living at a train or bus station,
      a park, or in a car
    • Living in an abandoned building
    • A youth not living with a
      parent or guardian
    • A child awaiting foster care
      placement
    • A child of a migrant worker
    • In other situations that are
      not fixed, regular, or adequate
      for night time residence
    • Immediate school enrollment:
      even if they lack proof of residency,
      guardianship, immunizations, or
      school records.
    • School Choice: Students may
      choose to stay at the school attended
      when permanently housed or
      to enroll in the school where
      currently living for the remainder
      of the academic year.
    • Free Lunches: McKinney-Vento
      students are automatically eligible to
      receive free lunch for the duration of
      the school year.
    • School fee waivers: Students have
      the right to equal access to
      education.
    • Transportation: While students are
      in unstable housing, transportation is
      provided for students residing outside
      of their school’s attendance area..

McKinney-Vento Contact List

Jessica Belongia   
Robinson   
608-361-2843   jbelongia@sdb.k12.wi.us
Alyssa Boutelle   
Memorial   
608-361-3201   aboutelle@sdb.k12.wi.us
Audra Buchanan   
Beloit Learning Academy   
608-361-4355   abuchanan@sdb.k12.wi.us
Ava Dorst   
Todd   
608-361-4278   adorst@sdb.k12.wi.us
LaShima Grosskopf   
Merrill   
608-361-2670   lgrosskopf@sdb.k12.wi.us
Lori Hall   
Hackett   
608-361-2443   lhall@sdb.k12.wi.us
Latrice Harris   
Cunningham   
608-361-2219   bharris1@sdb.k12.wi.us
Martha McHugh   
Aldrich   
608-361-3753   mmchugh@sdb.k12.wi.us
Jennifer Miller   
Kolak Education Center   
608-361-4007   jmiller@sdb.k12.wi.us
Stacy Nemetz   
Fruzen   
608-361-2033   snemetz@sdb.k12.wi.us
Jennifer Nitz   
McNeel   
608-361-3944   jnitz@sdb.k12.wi.us
Kenda Roman   
Gaston   
608-361-2312   kroman@sdb.k12.wi.us
Stacy Sarvis-Brandt   
Converse   
608-361-2143   ssarvis@sdb.k12.wi.us
Robin Stuht   
School District of Beloit   
608-361-4355   rstuht@sdb.k12.wi.us
  • How to Access Services:

     
    For students new to the School District of Beloit, contact theCentral Enrollment Office:
    608-361-4023 or 608-361-4171
     
    For current students, contact your school social worker or guidance counselor, who can provide the services listed here as well as referrals
    to community helping agencies.

Community Resources

  • House of Mercy homeless shelter:
    608-754-0045
     
    Hands of Faith
    Accepts families in a 24 hour program for
    overnight accommodations, meals, and
    case management:
    608-363-0863
     
    The Sparrows Nest
    24 hour shelter for homeless.
    362-8215
    American Red Cross
    for residential fires:
    608-754-4497
     
    Caritas
    food pantry and clothing resource:
    608-754-5333
     
    Salvation Army
    emergency shelter vouchers and transitional
    living programs:
    608-365-6572
     
    Beloit Domestic Violence Shelter
    domestic violence shelter and transitional
    living programs:
    608-365-1119or toll free 1-866-723-3018
     
    Beloit Area Community Health Center
    608-361-0311
     
    Crisis Intervention Service:
    24 hour crisis and suicide counseling:
    608-757-5025
     
    Rock County Job Center
    to apply for food share, Medicaid, employment
    opportunities:
    608-741-3400
     
    For referral to other services call
    First Call: 608-752-3100
    www.firstcallrock.org