## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT OF BELOIT June 20, 2017

The Board of Education held a special board meeting on June 20, 2017 at the Kolak Education Center in Room 106. President Endres called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Members Present: Lisa Anderson-Levy, Dennis Baskin, Pam Charles, Laurie Endres, Kris Klobucar and Wendy Sanchez. Members absent: Shelly Cronin. Also present: Jamie Merath, Emily Pelz, Deetra Sallis, Darrell Williams, and Tom Johnson.

Baskin moved approval of the agenda. Seconded by Klobucar. Motion carried unanimously of the members present.

Endres reminded members that the plan was put together by a group of community and district staff members. Johnson explained that the presentation in the board packet is an overview of the plan. He did share a more comprehensive plan that is for the administration to work from and ensure that the plan is being carried out.

Charles asked for an explanation of the communication goal. Johnson explained that the goal is to build a better communication plan to enhance the way stakeholders view the district. Charles asked how the district will make the teachers feel more appreciated and valued. Sallis and Johnson explained that these items are in process or will be looked at and developed.

Baskin indicated that he was pleased with the plan and asked Johnson to convey his regards to the committee members. Endres echoed the sentiments and asked to give the document enough room to allow the district to get things done.

Anderson-Levy stated that she felt the process was very participatory, there was a broad cross-section of persons present and while some may not be satisfied with every portion of the process, overall it was successful and as many perspectives as possible were accommodated.

Endres indicated that the plan will be on the next special meeting agenda for approval.

Baskin moved approval of the personnel recommendation with the revision of removing E.J.M.

There were no items requested for future agendas.

The meeting adjourned at 6:48 p.m.

Michelle Shope, Board Secretary

Approved at the Regular Business Meeting on June 27, 2017

Laurie Endres, President